I Contend That I Am Broken

By Christopher Rupley

 

My thoughts are wild

and never tamed,

although they pretend

to be,

they are reminiscent

of all that is never

controlled

 

For if they were,

they wouldn’t bother me,

fight me,

distract me,

try to control me

 

They would be reigned in,

like a pack of wild wolves

who have been made weak

through captivity,

only to be reared for specific

purposes

 

And although I think,

act,

and hope that I will

have control,

it will never be

the truth for me

 

The life I live

is nothing more

than open doors

that wait for me to get close

and slam themselves in my face

 

As if they are scoffing,

scolding,

never remorseful,

and always challenging

my being…

3 thoughts on “I Contend That I Am Broken

Leave a Reply

