Cleaning House

By Christopher Rupley and Benjamin Grossman

Writhing,
teeth gnashing
and half-clothed,
courting disdain
on a park bench
in twenty degree
weather

I find it kind
what the mind
can marry and
the body sustain
for I am not in
twenty degree
weather

No,
I am simply
beaten and bruised,
frozen,
shattered,
within my being,

But if time
and grace
allow, I will
shatter that which freezes me
and beat the bruises from
the rug of my soul

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and Benjamin Grossman. Make sure and check out his blog by visiting thebreakdownoftaboo.wordpress.com).

One thought on “Cleaning House

Leave a Reply

