My Love

By Christopher Rupley

The love I knew
to be true
came to me and said:

Follow me home

So,
only naturally,
I picked myself up
and ran in the
opposite direction

Trying and testing,
testing and trying,
I wore myself thin,
thinking my love
had left me,
wishing in guilt
it had abandoned me
for what I’d done

But still it stayed,
watched over me,
comforted me like
a warm fire in front
of the hearth,
and said:

I made a place
for you,
and when you didn’t
come,
I stayed up
waiting for you..

Leave a Reply

