If Ever I Should Die, Dream Me Up Again

If ever I should die, dream me up again,
in a storybook of ancient knights and kings;
don’t let me be your misery, your bane.

If my ghost visits you in visions, don’t feign
friendship, but be reminded of the joys we used to sing;
if ever I should die, dream me up again.

Don’t think there is darkness waiting for me in vain,
or ancient demons and lurking creatures patrolling;
don’t let me be your misery, your bane.

Plant the sweetest of lies in your brain,
telling yourself I eternally dwell among flowing springs;
if ever I should die, dream me up again.

Think of all the times we played in the rain,
jumping about, falling down, and getting bee stings;
don’t let me be your misery, your bane.

When you’ve walked around in circles, like a rotating chain,
remember that’s me in you; I used to do the very same thing.
If ever I should die, dream me up again.
Don’t let me be your misery, your bane.

 

© Christopher Rupley 2015

 

(This is a Villanelle, and the form consists of 5 tercets followed by one quatrain, for a total of 19 lines. It is structured by two refrains, and two repeating rhymes. This poem is forever, only dedicated to my precious son. “I would do anything for you. I would break every law, go any distance, say anything, and lay down my life so you could continue on.  I love you, son.” -Dad).

19 thoughts on “If Ever I Should Die, Dream Me Up Again

  1. Wow. You keep getting better and better. This one is perfect and very powerful. Completely moving and really does show your love. This is one of my favourite of yours my friend. A fantastic piece! Bravo 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

