Shopping For One

I thought I saw her
reflection
in the frozen food aisle,
 
In the glass door imagery,
but it was just me
attaching meaning
 
To processed food & freezer meat
 
It was just me
 
The same as it was when
I pretended to argue with
myself instead of listening
to the unusual voice of reason
pouring forth from her
 
Much like the reason she left
in the first place
 
The reason I argue with myself
 
In the frozen food aisle.
 
It would be much easier to yell
at someone to “please move
your fucking cart”
or to ask “where is the Goddamn
baking soda?”
 
But, instead, the store clerk
laughs, and calls me
Tyler Durden behind my back
 
Yet I still see her face in the woman
picking produce
 
I still see her face when I unpack
my lonely groceries,
walk alone up my somber driveway,
and pour my cup of coffee
every morning –
the one I always let get cold
 
As cold as my
blue-lipped soul…
 
By Steve Shultz and Christopher Rupley 2015
 
(This is a collaborative poetic work between myself and an outstanding writer named Steve Shultz. He truly understands the value of his own style, and wears it well. Please be sure to check out the rest of his work by visiting the link above).

2 thoughts on “Shopping For One

  1. Thanks, brother. Me too 🙂 This is the first time I’ve written with Steve, and I think our styles meshed well. He possesses a certain freedom in writing that I’m exploring at the moment…

    Like

Leave a Reply

