Being Seen

Know that my convictions
are tamed by an uncontrollable
ability to see through the
slitted observers painted
on your face,
the ones showing me a
boundless world
inside you,
whether subjugated
or liberated,

So take this cordial,
bloodied invitation
to find the same
in me,
be it loneliness,
suffering or joy,
and stare into my vestigial
optics
where you will see yourself,
your counterpart

Because I see you,
but not being seen is
worse than not existing,
not only by lovers,
but by any

Can you even make out
the contours of my face?

Christopher Rupley 2015

Leave a Reply

