Brazenly Anew

It is
never enough
until it is too much –
want more, until passed out on floor.
No more

And your
eyes cradle such
contemptuousness, paired
only with the hypocrisy
you stow

Adrift,
sleep comes to wash away the day;
mistakes make paint for dreams,
coloring in
regrets

Only
then can I rid myself of the
crimson hue and crooked
brush strokes you draw
me with

Because when I’m freed
from your contrasted palette
my mind is at ease,

Now I find myself
staring at this blank canvas,
creating anew

© Christopher Rupley and Steve Shultz

(This is an interesting collaboration. Notice that Steve and I started with two Cinquain, and then added two reversed Cinquain, and ended with two Haiku (5-7-5). Make sure and check out the rest of Steve’s work by clicking here).

Leave a Reply

