Inverted Tiered Haiku

1-2-1
Great
Ase
dove

2-3-2
From the
tallest peak
she plunged

3-5-3
The pyres burned
bright as she smote her
enemies

5-7-5
Many victories
were won on the day that she
destroyed gods of men

© Christopher Rupley 2015

(Ase, pronounced “AH-she” is an old Norse name for a female, meaning god-like. I thought that it was particularly appropriate here, seeing as how I am trying to form some sort of character analysis for an ancient dragon queen/leader of sorts. On my father’s side of the family our heritage comes from the Scandinavian area. I have always had a thirst for the culture of my ancient people, and hope that any attempt I make at creating a story does not dishonor that culture).

Leave a Reply

