Abstracted State

Though I stand erect
with seeming ease
for all to see
weights lay heavy on
my buckling shoulders,
and my bruised mind,

for eye to eye
we may converse,
but my focus strays
past the lines
on this empty page,

and the semblance
of any hope
is but a mirage
dancing turbulently
on the horizon
hidden within my
cobwebbed perceptions.

No grasp or effort
in reaching stability
succeeds to quell
this protracted vertigo –
this unyielding spin…

© Murrsma and Christopher Rupley 2015

3 thoughts on “Abstracted State

Leave a Reply

