Blogger Recognition Award

What lead me to begin this blog started many years before my first post. In fact, my first several posts were poems I had written as far back as 2008-2009. I was a full-time college student working three jobs, raising a child, and watching my hair turn gray in the process. Stress is a horrible thing, and I’ve known it well over the last 10 years. Things have leveled out for me,  but they weren’t always so balanced. I had always written in a journal as a child, but when the stress of adult life hit at the age of 21 (when I became a father) my whole world changed, and I had no idea what was going to happen. I cried, abused myself, and ran in every direction I could imagine in my mind, but it didn’t help. It just made things worse. Creative writing for me became therapy, an escape, one of my greatest teachers, and a refuge in my life. No matter what happened I could always scratch some pages with ink, and feel the release of pressure – a deeply emotional catharsis. Writing creatively soon became an addiction in my life, and I had to ‘feed the beast’ no matter what was happening. I remember waiting tables and writing poetry on tattered receipt paper in between taking orders, scribbling on old envelopes in my car, or writing while I was in class, because I was bored with the subject matter, and two weeks ahead of everyone else anyway. I literally poured myself into journal after journal, and soon it became folder after folder on my computer. The funny thing is I never planned on writing any books. I swear! When I look back through some of my journals now – most of which are 4-5 year chunks of my life – I can see my books forming, and I was none the wiser. I didn’t have a clue what was forming right before my eyes. So, here we are 8 years later, and I still write everyday, even if I don’t post, which is a rare occurrence anyhow. It’s about balance, and I need a lot of it in my life. I feel like I can’t breathe if I can’t express the emotions that course through my veins. They haunt me if I don’t breathe life into them. I’m just broken life the rest of us, except I found the strength hidden in my pain.  

Thank you, Phoebe, for nominating me for this award. I’m thrilled that you thought of me, and I hope we can push pens together one day. Peace be with you. 

 

photo20

 

Other blogs I nominate: 

1. Patience at Loveletterstoaghost (I miss writing with you…)

2. Leonard Durso (I have much to learn from you)

Advice or two to new bloggers:

Don’t ever pander to an audience. It’s a waste of time, and no one wants to read ‘cookie-cutter bullshit’ anyway. This is more than being true to oneself. If you need to write an elegant poem, write an elegant poem, but if you need to write fuck, shit, cunt, bitch, motherfucker, please write that, because the feelings behind those words will stay stuck in your head if you don’t get them out, and you really never know who needs to read what you’ve written. You have no idea when someone is going through the same exact thing you are, and needs to read your words so they don’t feel so desperately alone. The written word is powerful. Oh, and two more things: write especially when you don’t feel like writing. It’s worth it. Trust me. Lastly, reach out to people. Collaborate with other writers. Diffusion is a reality in this universe, and the diffusion of creativity is a beautiful thing. Don’t waste any opportunities to grow your craft, and share with another beautiful mind.

 

Cheers!

Christopher

 

*Here is the fine print for the nominees:

1-Select other blogs you want to give the award to (up to 15).
2-Write a post to show your award.
3-Give a brief story of how your blog started.
4-Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers.
5-Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
6-Attach the award badge to the post.
7-Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. There is so much more to my story, Phoebe, and I have many more books to write until someone saves me from having to pour myself out to the rest of the world. I’d rather just hold someone’s hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Christopher, for honoring me by nominating me for this award but my blog is awards-free. I find the appreciation of the poetry and prose pieces I post is more than enough for me. And having a loyal supporter like yourself is more important to me than an award. But I truly thank you for considering me. I certainly feel you deserve the recognition.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There’s nothing wrong with accepting awards. It really depends on the individual. I think you deserve the recognition and an award is one way of getting it. Be proud of it. You have earned it with your dedication to the craft.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

