If Ever I Should Die Dream Me Up Again

If ever I should die dream me up again
in a storybook of ancient knights and kings;
don’t let me be your misery – your bane.

If my ghost visits you in visions don’t feign
friendship, but be reminded of the joys we used to sing;
if ever I should die dream me up again.

Don’t think there is darkness waiting for me in vain,
or ancient demons, and lurking creatures patrolling;
don’t let me be your misery – your bane.

Plant the sweetest of lies in your brain
telling yourself I eternally dwell among flowing springs;
if ever I should die dream me up again.

Think of all the times we played in the rain,
jumping about, falling down, and getting bee stings;
don’t let me be your misery – your bane.

When you’ve walked around in circles like a rotating chain
remember that’s me in you; I used to do the very same thing.
If ever I should die dream me up again.
Don’t let me be your misery – your bane.

© Christopher Rupley 2015

(This is a Villanelle, and the form consists of 5 tercets followed by one quatrain, for a total of 19 lines. It is structured by two refrains, and two repeating rhymes. This poem is forever only dedicated to my precious son. “I would do anything for you. I would break every law, go any distance, say anything, and lay down my life so you could continue on. I love you son, and when you find this electronic trail of my thoughts just know that I wasn’t afraid, and neither should you be.” -Dad).

2 thoughts on “If Ever I Should Die Dream Me Up Again

Leave a Reply

